Healthy landscapes, viable communities

  • Home
  • Aboriginal Program

Aboriginal Program

aboriginal program moree_toomelah_eldersfamily_300wQMDC pays respect to the Traditional Owner Elders, Elders and Seniors of the countries (Nations) in our region.

The Queensland Murray-Darling Basin (QMDB) is not consistent with one Traditional Owner group, but is made up of eight Nations with an association to the QMDB. The eight Traditional Owner groups include: 

  • Barunggam
  • Bidjara
  • Bigambul
  • Gunggari
  • Kambuwal
  • Kamilaroi/Goomeroi
  • Kooma
  • Mandandanji.

A number of Traditional Owner groups also have Country in neighbouring natural resource management regions, including New South Wales. 

QMDC is dedicated to increasing the meaningful involvement of Aboriginal people in natural resource management and raising awareness about Landcare and environmental issues. QMDC and Traditional Owners continue to work closely together in identifying Traditional Owner needs and aspirations relating to natural resource management throughout the region.

An important step to achieve the realisation of Traditional Owner aspirations and meaningful involvement is the formation of the QMDC Regional Aboriginal Advisory Group (RAAG). The RAAG includes two representatives (one male and one female) from each of the eight Traditional Owner groups within the region.

Go to the Advisory Groups page for further information.


aboriginalrangerslogo1QMDC Ranger Program

Click here to read more about this exciting new program.



Caring for Country Plan

QMDC has prepared a Regional Caring for Country Plan 2008-2011. The report is in the publications section of this website.

Cultural Awareness Training

QMDC staff have participated in cultural awareness workshops delivered by Tom Kirk, an Indigenous Consultant. These workshops are an important step to enable QMDC staff to follow appropriate protocol when working with Aboriginal communities.